You install the Backup 4 Less Client on a PC, laptop or server. An installation wizard will guide you through the installation process. This is very simple and takes less than five minutes.
The number of computers that Backup 4 Less can be installed on depends on your backup plan.
The Backup 4 Less Client has a special function that enables laptop users, who are often on the move, to use the program as well. This function ensures that, once you have reconnected your laptop to the Internet, a backup of selected tasks is immediately sent to the Backup Server. The only thing you need to do is to connect to the Internet from time to time!
You can select a storage capacity based on the amount of data you have. The amount of storage space is determined by your plan with Backup 4 Less.
No. You can turn off your computer whenever you like. If Backup 4 Less was busy performing a backup of your files when you turned off your computer, Backup 4 Less will proceed with the backup the next time you connect to the Internet. There is even no danger if not all your data has been backed up and there is a power failure or an unexpected interruption of the Internet connection.
The Backup 4 Less Client will then automatically start the backup process the next time you turn on your computer and connect to the Internet.
The Backup 4 Less client will automatically start the backup process the next time your computer has a connection to the Internet.
Yes. A user manual is available for the service. It describes in detail on how to use the Backup 4 Less client.
Backup 4 Less is available in English, German, Dutch, Spanish, Italian, Polish and French.
In principle, you can make a backup of any type of file, as long as your maximum storage capacity is not exceeded. This maximum storage capacity is determined by your plan with Backup 4 Less.
With the Backup 4 Less Client you determine the frequency of the backups. You can have backups performed automatically on a daily, weekly or monthly basis.
Yes. You can set a date and time. For example, you can make a backup at the end of the day, so that a backup is made of all the files accessed that day.
Yes. Using Backup 4 Less, you can perform unscheduled backups manually. This is very simple.
If you like, you can receive a notification of each backup on-screen or by e-mail.
Backup 4 Less only backs up files that have been changed or changes within a file (In-File Delta; incremental transmission and storage). This means that your network will not be sending unnecessary information, thus making backups faster. The first time you perform a backup, the entire file must be sent. This will take more time than subsequent backups.
Backup 4 Less only creates a back up of files that have been changed, or changes within a file (In-File Delta; incremental transmission and storage). This means that your network will not be sending unnecessary information, making backups faster. The first time you make a backup, the entire file must be sent. This will take more time than subsequent backups.
Backup 4 Less detects changes automatically, even changes in a single file. Only those parts of the file that have been changed will be backed up. For example, if you add a new paragraph to a large text document, only the new text will be included in the backup.
Backup 4 Less, compresses your files during a backup to increase efficiency. This means that the data takes up less space (fewer bits) after compression than before. This reduces the burden on your Internet connection during backups and the files will take up less space on the Backup Server. You won't notice anything relating to this process: when you retrieve the compressed files, they will be decompressed automatically and thus restored to their original state.
Yes. Your storage space, for example, 10 GB, represents the amount of storage for compressed data on the Backup Server. So, on your computer, this amount could be as much as 20 GB.
Yes. You can set the preferred number of stored data versions in Backup 4 Less Client. For example, if you make a backup every day and choose to save 30 versions, you can always access the file versions of the last 30 days.
You will be informed by e-mail when you are about to reach your maximum storage capacity. If you have exceeded the maximum storage capacity, you will be notified by e-mail that you cannot make any more backups. Also the “Backup” tab in the client will be grayed out and non functional. You can increase your maximum storage capacity by requesting an upgrade to your current storage plan.
You can request an upgrade or downgrade through our sales department via phone or e-mail.
No not at all. Backup 4 Less however, will bill you a lower or higher monthly rate based on your newly upgraded or downgraded storage plan.
Yes, your stored backup data will be retained after an upgrade.